Posted in Legatos

Challenge Accepted

Thanks to the lovely and enigmatic Writefury, I’ve been nominated to do the “describe me” challenge. Sounds cool, so…

Challenge-Accepted-Girl-Meme-07

The Rules

stuff

-Thank the blogger who nominated you.

-Choose one song that describes your music taste.

-Choose one outfit that describes your fashion taste.

-Choose one meal (including drink) that describes your taste for food.

-Choose one book that describes you/ changed your life.

-Choose one quote that describes what you want for your life.

 

My Responses

“Choose one song that describes your music taste.”

I WON’T BE PART OF YO SYSTEM! But seriously, trying to slam all of my “music taste” into one song would be awful. So, I’m not gonna do that. Fight me, challenge makers. I won’t play your little game. I mean, my favorite genre isn’t even really a thing. Like, I call it “folk pop,” but I’m pretty sure its either a term made up by hipsters trying to sound cool or its legit but no one actually knows what it really means. I’m a southern girl through and through; there’s just something about that blue grass-esque feel that moves me. Pretty sure it’s in the blood. Stranger things have happened. That being said, I also love bass and funky techno stuff. Lauren Daigle’s “Come Alive (Dry Bones)” I think is a pretty good example of this.

Seriously though, I will bump it to just about anything that has a good message or theme. The more thought-provoking the better. Also, if I can listen to it while I’m walking in downtown Athens and feel like a boss, I’m almost immediately a fan. Which includes instrumental music. Some of my favorite comes from the film score How to Train Your Dragon composed by John Powell. This one is called “Battling the Green Death.” The ending is absolutely fantastic in this one!

Music is my literal jam. I love listening to it and creating it. It is one of the few things that I can count on to–not matter what kind of day I’ve had or how I’m feeling–to make my heart come alive.

 

“Choose one outfit that describes your fashion taste.”

What fashion taste? Seriously, right now I’m chilling in black gym shorts and a t-shirt and that’s my norm (even in public). If it’s cool (life in Georgia means 90% of the time you’re going to be about two inches from heat stroke, unless you’re expecting it and then it snows, but that’s a story for another day), functional, and modest, that’s the direction I’ll be rolling on the runway. Dresses are basically the bane of my existence, but they’re growing on me. Very slowly. Mostly because sometimes I enjoy looking like a lady. But only sometimes. When my mom makes me.

 

“Choose one meal (including drink) that describes your taste for food.”

To start, hot green tea–pretty much any flavor, although ginger is probably my favorite… that or peppermint–with enough sugar to make it sweet because I’m a fan of sweet things. Then, as the entre, anything that my mom cooks from scratch. I kid you not, I don’t remember ever eating something out of her pots and pans that wasn’t incredible. Cooking is definitely not my spiritual gifting (I once managed to burn break-and-bake cookies….), but my mom is a whiz in the kitchen. It’s pretty awesome.

 

“Choose one book that describes you/ changed your life.”

Easy answer: The Bible. Greatest story ever told. Describes me. Changed my life. It’s pretty awesome, too. But, in the interest of keeping things not-textbook, I’d like to highlight a book I just finished: Girl Meets Change by Kristen Strong. It is a brilliant book and has completely changed the way I view transitions and unexpected turns (or even turns at all). Her godly perspective on change and seriously fantastic metaphors and storytelling made it a book that is literally overflowing with truth and insight.

 

“Choose one quote that describes what you want for your life.”

3dbc5c2319df5e4deea41a58b35fa01a

That one there. Because reasons. It’s on a poster on my door. Like a really really really big note to myself. When I was still of a mind to get up a couple minutes earlier in the morning, I would read it outloud before venturing downstairs. It’s just so cool. And eloquent. I mean, it’s basically saying “I do what I want,” but in a significantly more inspirational and biblical manner.

Author:

Sarah is a passionate storyteller with a huge heart that loves Jesus and everyone she meets. Sarah grew up in Georgia with her mom, dad, and little sister, Merry, where she attends the University of Georgia, majoring in International Affairs and Agriculture Communication. When she graduates, Sarah wants to help people all over the world succeed in the agriculture industry and tell the all-important story of the farmer. She joined the Kingdom Pen Team as Secretary in September 2013 and runs her own blog at notecardsblog.wordpress.com.

9 thoughts on “Challenge Accepted

Leave a Reply

